AFA Announces the Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame - "Class of 2012"

The AFA’s Hall of Fame selection committee has completed its annual task of reviewing personal profiles of qualified individuals nominated for induction into the Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame as the "Class of 2012". Information submitted by HOF alumni and subsequent review by the selection committee resulted in the selection of 18 people for enshrinement this year.

This year's group of Hall of Famers will be enshrined as the “Class of 2012” during the AFA's 32nd Annual Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame Induction Dinner at the Pro Football Hall of Fame, 2121 George Halas Drive NW, Canton, Ohio 44708. The Induction Dinner will be part of a 2 day event for the AFA National Association, which will run from Thursday, June 28th thru Friday, June 29th. There will be a special acknowledgement this year of all inductees from the 1980s & 1990s as well.

This year we are especially honored to induct Derek Stingley and Tyronne Jones, both players from Arena Football who got their start at the semipro/minor league football level. Derek Stingley started his career with the semipro Louisiana Bayou Thunder and subsequently went on to the Arena Football Albany Firebirds. In 2008 he was named Arena Football 2 Head Coach of the Year. Derek still holds several semipro football records and is currently coaching with the Pittsburgh Power.

Tyronne Jones started his career at the semipro level with the New Orleans Hustlers (AFA) and subsequently started his Arena Football career with the Nashville Kats, New Orleans VooDoo and then the NFL’s Indianapolis Colts.

Events Scheduled:

  • Sports & Celebrity Memorabilia Auction
  • Annual AFA/HoF Legends - meet the new inductees "Alumni Huddle Cocktail Party - 7pm Thursday, June 28th
  • AFA Board of Directors Meeting (closed) - 10am Friday, June 29th
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame Tours at your leisure
  • 32nd Annual AFA Semi Pro Hall of Fame Induction Dinner - 7pm Dinner (Cocktails 6pm) Friday, June 29th.

The American Football Association is proud to present the names of those who will be enshrined into the AFA Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame as the "Class of 2012" (names in parentheses indicate sponsors of the new inductees):

Players Category:

  • Simeon Hendrickson - Lombard, IL - (Mal Yarke, Elmhurst Travelers, Don Busch, Larry Schmidt, Jim Bejna, Jerry Schropp, Neal Andersen, Andy Tranchita)
  • Ralph Pina - Raynham, MA - (Peter O'Kane)
  • Al Countryman - Theresa, NY - (George Ashcraft)
  • Lawrence Pollic - Ballston Spa, NY - (Alvin Lollie)
  • Dave Fleck - Schenectady, NY - (Tom Manny)
  • Erik Taylor - Irving, TX - (Greg Skowronski)
  • Derek Stingley - Baton Rouge, LA - (Dave Burch)
  • Tyronne Jones - Marietta, GA - (Keith Ballard)
  • Howard Hoy - Frederick, MD - (Stephen Oldt, Dave Bonsell)
  • Gary Hughes - Glen Allen, VA - (Bob Yurachek)
  • Don Kempf - Olmsted Twp, OH - (Paul Takach, John Companey)
  • Leon Burch - Chicago, IL - (Thomas Robinson)
  • Pat O'Toole - Weymouth, MA - (Larry DeVoe)
  • Clayton “CC” Cowlings - Indianapolis, IN - (Jim Stamper)

Executive Category:

  • John P. Zafiris Jr - Billerica, MA – (Cheryl Kardas)
  • Tom Hawkins - Burlington, WI - (Jordan Kopac)
  • Chad Fauson - Chambersburg, PA – (Chazz Brown)

Coaches Category:

  • Joe "Duke" Collins - Canton, MA – (AFA Alumni)

The enshrinement of this year's class of 18 new hall of famers will see the 32-year total number of inductees expand from 653 members to 671 members. Since the inaugural enshrinement in 1981 (including the Class of 2010) the AFA has recognized 384 players; 101 coaches; 85 executives; 29 officials; 23 pioneers; 20 media/historians; 13 trainer/equipment men; 6 associated with youth football; 5 involved with international semi-pro; 4 from the women's level; and even 1 'super fan.'

Dinner tickets are $75 each for the 2012 AFA Semi Pro Hall of Fame Induction Dinner. If interested in ordering dinner tickets, please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for an order form. The deadline for ticket orders is June 7

This year as part of our event fundraiser, we are soliciting sponsors and raffle items in advance. Sponsors and donors will be acknowledged during our live hall of fame internet broadcast, will be listed in our souvenir program and posted on our event banner. Just click the form below to make a donation/become a sponsor.... or use our social media link.


 Click here to download



Phoenix Internet Services